Address: 27/13 Malaya Gruzinskaya Street

Концерт состоялся 10 November 2017 года

Series: Concert projects

New Music Festival SOUND UP

The concert features:

Claire M Singer (organ, UK
James McVinnie (Organ, UK)
New Music Studio
Robert Ames (conductor, UK)

Programme: C. Amstrong, N. Muhly, C.M Singer, C. Lamb, Ph. Glass, M. Fell, J.S. Bach

The 14th concert of the SOUND UP New Music Festival is curated by the British Festival Organ Reframed, challanging artists and audiences to rethink and rediscover the organ.

The Festival extends the life of the unique instrument integrating it into the music of the 21st century. Annually Organ Reframed presents new pieces written especially for the organ by contemporary composers.

For the first time in Moscow, in the framework of SOUND UP, a number of pieces for organ, strings and digital instruments written especially for the British festival will be performed. Tonight we will have a chance to confront them with Johann Sebastian Bach’s organ masterpieces.

A wide variety of pieces, each presenting an individual view on the role of the organ in the modern world, will be performed by a famous organist James McVinnie, who worked in the Westminster Abbey and performed at various state events including the royal wedding of Prince William and Kate Middleton (2011). He has collaborated with such composers and musicians as David Lang, Bryce Dessner (The National), Reed Parry (Arcade Fire).

The strings group of the concert is a Russian ensemble “New Music Studio”. Tonight it will be conducted by Robert Ames, one of the founders and the main conductor of the London Contemporary Orchestra. He successfully cooperates with numerous musicians and has worked with such outstanding contemporary composers as Steve Reich, Terry Riley, Meredith Monk, with the musicians Jonny Greenwood (Radiohead), Frank Ocean etc, with the legendary Abbey Road and National Theatre, with film studios.

Craig Armstrong
“Painted in White”

Nico Muhly
“Fast Cycles”

Claire M Singer
“Fragments of Light”

Catherine Lamb
“Cumulus Totalities”

Philip Glass
“Mad Rush”

Claire M Singer
“The Molendinar”

Mark Fell
“Time Diagram” for organ and strings

J.S. Bach
Passacaglia in C minor (BWV 582)

SOUND UP New Music Festival

Contemporary organ and electronic music

We listened to: Chamber orchestra, Kuhn Organ, Organ

Tags: Genuine organ as it should be, Great Britain, Organ and orchestra, Through the stars, Unparalleled concert, Virtuoso performance