Address: 27/13 Malaya Gruzinskaya Street

Концерт состоялся 3 December 2017 года

Series: Cathedral's Eve, Evening by Candlelight

The concert features:

Lyubov Shishkhanova (organ)
Natalia Dyachenko (violin)

Programme: J.S. Bach, G. Frescobaldi, F.M. Veracini, B. Galuppi, T. Vitali

In the beginning of December the city is transformed. Here and there coloured lanterns and silver Christmas trees are twinkling invitingly. And everyone, even without intending to do so, starts hunting for the festive mood. But how can it be caught? Toys that made us so happy in our childhood are now nothing more than plain plastic, while the usual entertainments of our adult life fail to give us the desired feeling. But somewhere there lives a fairy tale. Why don’t we look for it in the sound of the organ, in the Cathedral standing still under the muslin of dancing snowdrops?

There are no obtrusive ads in the Cathedral, just quiet looking forward to the meeting with the miracle. The huge old organ breathes through the nostrils of his numerous pipes, humming Bach’s innermost tunes or assembles sounds in musical mosaics of Venetian composers. Take a look inside the silence, and the fuss will subside, and you will see that time is long and deep, like a well of living water.


The Christians of the Western tradition prepare to Christmas during 4 weeks. There is a special Advent crown with four purple candles attached to it, according to the number of weeks. Just before Christmas all of them are lighted. This tiny ballet of fire lights up the road for Baby Jesus who came from the world above to console and save us. This message is in fact the greatest feast, more important than expensive gifts and Christmas markets. However the latter are also welcome.

People's Artist of Russia
Lyubov Shishkhanova (organ)

Laureate of international competitions
Natalia Dyachenko (violin)

J.S. Bach

Fantasia and fugue in C minor, BWV 537

from “Schübler Chorales”:

“Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme” [“Awake, the voice is calling us”], BWV 645

“Meine Seele erhebt den Herren” [“My soul doth magnify the Lord”], BWV 648

“Kommst du nun, Jesu, vom Himmel herunter” [“Come thou, Jesu, from heaven to earth”], BWV 650


G. Frescobaldi

Toccata per l’elevatione


F.M. Veracini

Minuet and Gavotte from the Sonata for violin and organ in E minor


B. Galuppi



T. Vitali

Chaconne for violin and organ in G minor


J.S. Bach

Chorale prelude “Schmücke dich, o liebe Seele” [“Adorn yourself, dear soul”], BWV 654

Prelude and fugue in C minor, BWV 546

We listened to: Kuhn Organ, Violin

Tags: Fairy tale, Living candles, Organ and violin, Organ and voice